Compline on the 16th Sunday after Pentecost, 2021

with No Comments

Compline on The 16th Sunday after Pentecost | September 12, 2021, 9:30 p.m.

See the Order of Service here. Each week's repertoire can be found here.

ORISON: Hope of the world, thou Christ of great compassion (Tune: DONNE SECOURS) – mel. from Trente quatre pseaumes de David, 1551; harm. Claude Goudimel (c. 1514-1572)

PSALM 116 – Peter R. Hallock (1924-2014) [Psalter, p. 171]

HYMN 160: Cross of Jesus, cross of sorrow (Tune: CROSS OF JESUS) – John Stainer (1840-1901)

NUNC DIMITTIS – Plainsong, Tone I; harm. Lodovico Grossi da Viadana (c. 1560-1627) [GWB ed.]

ANTHEM: We adore you, O Christ – Richard T. Proulx (1937-2010)


Jeremy Matheis, director • David Gary, reader • Fred McIlroy, cantor


  • Compline is open to all for in-person attendance as of August 22, 2021. Masks must be worn at all times.


  • If you experience any problems with the video player on this page, you may wish to try joining the simultaneous stream on Facebook or YouTube instead.


  • Monthly Newcomers Coffee (first Sunday of every month only): Immediately following the Sunday morning service, come meet people and ask questions at a special virtual coffee hour with clergy over Zoom. Join using this link. The next offering will be Sunday, September 5.


  • The weekly cathedral newsletter contains important announcements, offerings, and events. Click here to add yourself to cathedral emails lists.


  • Video of past services can be seen here.
  • Audio and printed text of sermons can be found here.

Support the Mission and Ministry of Saint Mark's Cathedral

If you watch and enjoy our live-streamed or archived services, please consider making a donation in support of the mission and ministry of this cathedral.

You may also donate using the Venmo mobile app from your smartphone (search for @SaintMarksCathedralSeattle ) Thank you for your generosity.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.